The Laureates

The World Food Prize has been awarded to 39 people over the past 27 years. The United States has had 13 Laureates. India has had six Laureates. There have been four women named as Laureates.

Here is the list of World Food Prize Laureates:

Year Winner Country
1987 Dr. Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan India
1988 Dr. Robert F. Chandler, Jr. USA
1989 Dr. Verghese Kurien India
1990 Dr. John S. Niederhauser USA
1991 Dr. Nevin S. Scrimshaw USA
1992 Dr. Raymond C. Bushland and Dr. Edward F. Knipling USA
1993 He Kang China
1994 Dr. Muhammad Yunus Bangladesh
1995 Dr. Hans Rudolf Herren Switzerland
1996 Dr. Henry Beachell and Dr. Gurdev Singh Khush USA and India
1997 Dr. Ray F. Smith and Dr. Perry L. Adkisson USA
1998 Ramulal Barwale India
1999 Dr. Walter Plowright UK
2000 Dr. Surinder Vasal and Dr. Evangelina Villegas India and Mexico
2001 Dr. Per Pinstrup-Andersen Denmark
2002 Dr. Pedro A. Sanchez USA
2003 The Honorable Catherine Bertini USA
2004 Dr. Monty Jones and Yuan Longping Sierre Leone, China
2005 Dr. Modadugu V. Gupta India
2006 Mr. Edson Lobato of Brazil, H.E. Alysson Paolinelli of Brazil, and Dr. A. Colin McClung Brazil, Brazil, USA
2007 Dr. Philip E. Nelson USA
2008 Senators George McGovern and Robert Dole USA
2009 Dr. Gebisa Ejeta Ethiopia
2010 David Beckmann and Jo Luck USA
2011 John Agyekum Kufuor and Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva Ghana and Brazil
2012 Dr. Daniel Hillel Israel
2013 Marc Van Montagu, Mary-Dell Chilton and Robert T. Fraley Belgium, USA, USA