About the World Food Prize

The World Food Prize was created in 1987 by the late Nobel Peace Prize winner, Dr. Norman Borlaug, and is the foremost international award recognizing individuals who have contributed landmark achievements in increasing the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. Borlaug is credited with saving 1 billion lives during The Green Revolution in the mid-20th century. Monsanto has established the Monsanto Beachell-Borlaug International Scholars Program, in honor of Dr. Henry Beachell and Borlaug, to fund the research and training of future rice and wheat breeders.

The World Food Prize has been awarded to 39 people for various contributions to agriculture, food science, poverty alleviation and many other facets of food production.